Of cliches, cement and contacts

I guess we’ve all heard the cliché – “Man is a social animal !!!”. But then I guess I realized it in a completely different manner only today.

The current situation is that we (as in Group 1, or fondly referred to as Team Avon by the members) are hard pressed for time to complete a MAC II Project titled “The costing systems followed by the Cement Industry in India”. Team Avon being true proponents of the Just-in-time system, started off work on the project only yesterday, the submission being due in another 5 days.

Coming to the point, here we were stuck in good ol’ Indore which is around 350 odd kms away from the nearest cement plant without an inkling of an idea as to how to go about gathering costing data. Suddenly Mr Khanna and Ms Mohan remember that their fathers have some contacts in cement companies. Out came the phones, and after frantic dialing up fathers and getting abused by them for being so ‘prompt’ with our work and deadlines, we end up with a few phone numbers of people in the industry.

Never imagined that we’d get so far in this project in such short time. Guess that’s what having decent contacts does for you. I’ve always prided myself as being a ‘people person’, but then I guess it’s time for a serious re-think. All the contacts I have are people who are doing similar things as I am and in the long run, that amounts to naught. Therefore, now’s as good a time as any to start talking to people, developing contacts and maintaining them. That way the fact that I’m at an IIM is probably going to stand me in good stead for the rest of my life, I guess.

Cheers……………..Jamster

Leave a Reply

