Cricket, and related memories

It’s quite amazing what a small thing such as a game of cricket can bring back so much that you hold precious.

Today as usual after my afternoon nap, I got out of the room to see some of the seniors enjoying a small game of cricket on the Basketball court. For a while, I was standing up in front of my room on the first floor, as usual passing stupid remarks and giving proxy commentary to the entire proceedings. But then, somehow I got caught up in all the fun and around 45 mins later, I found myself in the game.

But then the joke is that my reputation as someone who absolutely abhors any kind of physical activity precedes me and one senior in particular, (don’t wanna name him, but I consider him my spiritual and academic guide) ensured that I had absolutely no role to play in the game.

As fate would have it, I got to bat, and lo behold, as is my style, I buckled under the pressure and got out quite stupidly on the first ball I faced. However, as far as the bowling went, I got the ball from the same senior, coz as per his analysis, we had already lost the match, so he might as well give the ball to me and watch the fun.

We had one last over left and the opposition (again comprising of all good friends) had to score only 6 runs. Managed to pull the match till the last ball, without any errors. Hopefully managed to salvage some pride and respect from the guys today. Maybe now they know that if they need someone to fight for them, Jam is always there!!!!

Man, cricket brings back too many memories of back home. Back then, when I was in high school and college, say upto my 12th standard, cricket was life. Everyday my schedule would include a minimum of around 3 to 3.5 hours of solid competitive cricket. Wonder what made me stop playing the lovely game. Maybe part of it has to do with the fact that the playground bang in front of my house was converted into a Community Center, and maybe I got serious in life, with new relationships, etc. But then, today was an eye opener and I’m surely gonna play some more cricket than I already have in the 5 months that I’ve been at Indore.

Cheers…………….Jamster

2 thoughts on “Cricket, and related memories

  1. hey jammy.this is strange.i was watching my mess workers play cricket ,frm my balcony just yesterday ans was palnning to post a tear jerker about my crcketing adventures too.strange coincidence.

Leave a Reply

