Buck up or back off!

Hey folks, it’s time again for a post from my favorite guest (or is it Ghost) contributor. This time around she has her say on the sensational issue rocking India, flying Sikhisms such as ‘monkey’. Way to go gal!!!

Ok like I say I am not into this cricket mania but there is so much of it happening at the moment one cant help getting into it and when JR said that I would have an opinion on it – I realized that “yeah of course!!! I am thinking of it why not put it down together!”

Story so far – we Indians went down under (and quite literally!) not only because we played badly (I am referring to the first test where we got licked!) but also because the Aussies played with 14 people while we played with only 7.

The issue is now way beyond cricket – its now National pride, ethics on the field, sportsmanship, how to deal with deaf/blind people, racism and a lot of other issues! Bhajji is become a national hero; news channels are covering this 24/7, Indians want Bucknor to retire , Aussies want Ricky out and people are getting jingoistic!!

I love the Indian cricket team despite its inconsistent performances – I think it is good that we give it back to the cussing Aussies who now cant take it that even the Indians can sledge! We bore the brunt of most of the bad decisions but I however hope that people and the media don’t blow this whole thing out of proportion and I hope we end up continuing the series (and I also hope we thrash the aussies in all the next matches!)

Go India!

Anyway looking on the lighter side of this whole incident…

I received this SMS that read

Save Bhajji campaign : Harbhajan Singh is innocent. He just looked at Andrew Symonds and said under his breath ‘Teri maa ki’ and Andrew wrongly heard it as monkey!

And did you know of the 3 new words to now be added to the dictionary?

Ponting: (n) (adj)

A substance or entity or even a person of unquestionable integrity An act of uncivilised behaviour. [Also, pontingness (n)]

Usage: The judge was driven towards justice because he knew that the pontiff was a ponting.

Sir Bonkers said, “Don’t try to bully me. I surely can fathom the pontingness in your eyes”.

Bucknor: (n) (adj)

1. Temporary blindness leading to missing out on the obvious.

2. To be at the wrong place at the wrong time.

3. Situations leading to grave judgemental errors.

Usage: I feel bucknored by my boss; Life often throws a bucknor at you.

Benson: (n) (adj)

1. Something that legitimises a severe bucknor.

Usage: First they bucknored me and then they bensoned it! I am toast.

Also see bucknor

Cheers…………Jam

Leave a Reply

